My mind is my shelter

Felicia

Life comes at you sometimes in pieces too big to avoid

1013219_10151601483064646_1709169466_n“Many things are hard. Life comes at you sometimes in pieces too big to avoid”

“It’s as though certain parts inside me broke, but instead of being damaged, I was free”.

“I think people would be happier if they admitted things more often. In a sense we are all prisoners of some memory, or fear, or disappointment – we are all defined by something we can’t change.”

“Whether you know it or not, we leave parts of ourselves wherever we go.”

“Every day is a masterpiece, even if it crushes you.”

“Rain says everything we cannot say to one another. It is an ancient sound that willed all life into being, but fell so long upon nothing.”

“In the end I didn’t know who I was crying for, but it was something my body wanted to do, as though trying to digest grief.”

“Love is also a violence, and cannot be undone.”

“We cross from memory into imagination with only a vague awareness of change.”

“Sometimes I wake up and lie still enough to hear a petal drop from the vase of flowers. Sometimes I lie awake and wish there was someone to hear my falling.”

“I tried to convey to the boy how people’s lives are often altered by curved lines read slowly from paper, sand, or stone.”

“He wanted to tell the baby that Paris was like a poem in stone.”

“Anyone who is desperate or alone will agree there is comfort in routine.”

 Simon van Booy – The Illusion of Separateness

*

“It would, indeed, be a relief and it would be so fulfilling for us to overcome the illusion of separateness.”
Simon van Booy – about The Illusion of Separatness

Information

This entry was posted on 10/08/2013 by in Books, Spirituality.
Follow My mind is my shelter on WordPress.com
