My mind is my shelter

Felicia

In dealing with truth we are immortal

1486815_10151850739604646_1425833652_nIf a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music he hears, however measured or far away.”
Do not be too moral. You may cheat yourself out of much life so. Aim above morality. Be not simply good, be good for something.
“With a little more deliberation in the choice of their pursuits, all men would perhaps become essentially students and observers, for certainly their nature and destiny are interesting to all alike. In accumulating property for ourselves or our posterity, in founding a family or a state, or acquiring fame even, we are mortal; but in dealing with truth we are immortal, and need fear no change nor accident.
How vain it is to sit down to write when you have not stood up to live.
“I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived. I did not wish to live what was not life, living is so dear; nor did I wish to practise resignation, unless it was quite necessary. I wanted to live deep and suck out all the marrow of life, to live so sturdily and Spartan-like as to put to rout all that was not life, to cut a broad swath and shave close, to drive life into a corner, and reduce it to its lowest terms”
It’s not what you look at that matters, it’s what you see.”
“Most men lead lives of quiet desperation and go to the grave with the song still in them
What lies behind us and what lies ahead of us are tiny matters compared to what lives within us.
„The perception of beauty is a moral test”
“If you have built castles in the air, your work need not be lost; that is where they should be. Now put the foundations under them.”
All good things are wild and free.”
“The greatest compliment that was ever paid me was when one asked me what I thought, and attended to my answer.”
“Nothing makes the earth seem so spacious as to have friends at a distance; they make the latitudes and longitudes.”
“I would rather sit on a pumpkin, and have it all to myself, than be crowded on a velvet cushion.”
“Our truest life is when we are in dreams awake.”
There is no remedy for love, but to love more.”
“I was not designed to be forced. I will breathe after my own fashion. Let us see who is the strongest.”
“Not till we are completely lost or turned around… do we begin to find ourselves.”
Henry David Thoreau
Information

This entry was posted on 18/01/2014 by in Inspiring views, Spirituality.
Follow My mind is my shelter on WordPress.com
