My mind is my shelter

Felicia

“I tore myself away from the safe comfort of certainties through my love for the truth”

de-beauvoir-simone“I tore myself away from the safe comfort of certainties through my love for the truth – and truth rewarded me”

“One is not born, but rather becomes, a woman.”

“All oppression creates a state of war; this is no exception.”

“One’s life has value so long as one attributes value to the life of others, by means of love, friendship, indignation, compassion.”

“Self-knowledge is no guarantee of happiness, but it is on the side of happiness and can supply the courage to fight for it.”

“On the day when it will be possible for woman to love not in her weakness but in strength, not to escape herself but to find herself, not to abase herself but to assert herself – on that day love will become for her, as for man, a source of life and not of mortal danger. In the meantime, love represents in its most touching form the curse that lies heavily upon woman confined in the feminine universe, woman mutilated, insufficient unto herself.”

“Each of us is responsible for everything and to every human being.”

“Fără ea nu aş fi avut niciodată aceeaşi experienţă. Fără să fi discutat cu ea despre acestea, ele ar fi fost nespecifice. Un gest pe care îl descriu, o situaţie de viaţă pe care o analizez – ele capătă precizia şi exactitatea lor realistă prin intensitatea experienţei cu Simone de Beauvoir” – Jean-Paul Sartre

Simone de Beauvoir

Information

This entry was posted on 04/05/2014 by in Inspiring views, Spirituality.
Follow My mind is my shelter on WordPress.com
