My mind is my shelter

Felicia

Go to kindred spirits

Henri Rousseau-The Sleeping Gypsy

“If you want to know how to do a thing you must first have a complete desire to do that thing. Then go to kindred spirits – others who have wanted to do that thing – and study their ways and means, learn from their successes and failures and add your quota. Thus you may acquire from the experience of the race. And with this technical knowledge you may go forward, expressing through the play of forms the music that is in you and which is very personal to you.

Receipts are for slaves.

I love the tools made for mechanics. I stop at the windows of hardware stores. If I could only find an excuse to buy many more of them than I have already bought on the mere pretense that I might have use for them! They are so beautiful, so simple and plain and straight to their meaning. There is no “Art” about them., they have not been made beautiful, they are beautiful.

Someone has defined a work of art as “a thing beautifully done”. I like it better if we cut away the adverb and preserve the word “done”, and let it stand alone in its fullest meaning. Things are not done beautifully. The beauty is an integral part of their being done.

As busy as a real boy is busy, I do not know why he is leaning over there, but I enjoy him and I understand his eager interest in what he is doing.

A tree growing out of the ground is as wonderful today as it ever was. It does not need to adopt new and startling methods.”

roberthenriartspiritRobert Henri – The Art Spirit

Further reading

Information

This entry was posted on 22/04/2016 by in Art, Books, Inspiring views, Robet Henri - The Art Spirit, Spirituality, Various.
Follow My mind is my shelter on WordPress.com
